Benefits of a Perseverance Trust Scholarship

Hello , my name is Rachael Williams. I’m a first year Adult Nursing BSc student and I am so proud to be a recipient of the Perseverance Trust Scholarship.

Initially I found out  about the scholarship from a King’s College London financial support leaflet hidden among my collection of items gathered during fresher’s week. I decided that, seeing as I was eligible for the scholarship, there was no harm in applying – and I’m so pleased I did!

As a successful recipient of the award, I can now focus more on my studies without having to worry about money, and it means I now have the opportunity to afford an international trip for my elective placement  in the second year. The elective placement allows students in our Faculty to study anywhere in the UK or around the world for six weeks, and I plan to work in  hospitals and community health centres in the mountainous region of Nepal. This elective will give me the opportunity to work with the local people, and learn more about their healthcare system, culture and language for the month. I wouldn’t have been able to do that without the Perseverance Trust Scholarship.

King’s College London offers so many opportunities for students, from academic and financial support, to social activities and health awareness. All you need to do is look at what’s avaliable! Since joining King’s College London after sixth form, I have explored many of these opportunities by attending academic discussions, joining many sports clubs and the African Carribean Society – I’ve even been elected Health and Wellbeing Officer for this society!

The Perservance Trust Scholarship has given me the opportunity to support myself and have financial stability as I study for my degree. I encourage everyone, who has the chance to apply for the scholarship, to do so, as it can be an incredible financial aid for a student and can open so many doors to you.

For more information on the Perseverance Trust Scholarship, click here.

Leave a Reply

