Where Can Your Nursing Degree Take You?

It’s Deborah again! If you’re thinking about your career prospects after you graduate, King’s is a great place to get started. Students here are offered heaps of careers support throughout and after their degrees – from finding relevant work experience to securing a part-time job. The King’s Careers & Employability Services are available to students for advice and guidance. I’m going to tell you about my nursing career experience so far.

So you have probably wondered where a degree in nursing or midwifery can actually lead you. “Become a nurse or midwife” is often the answer and, yes, that is correct and that used to be my answer too – but what type of nurse or midwife? It wasn’t until I started my BSc Mental Health Nursing course and my placements that I realised what a huge field nursing is. Saying you want to be a nurse when you graduate is just the starting point…

Ten placements later and I have been fortunate enough to have experienced numerous roles which have exposed me to nursing opportunities I didn’t even know existed. My placements have included working in a deaf adult community health team, a psychiatric decision unit (a unique service in mental health), a rehabilitation unit, an older adults ward and a psychiatric intensive care unit – and I will soon be shadowing the Director of Nursing too. It has been very varied and exciting and it has opened my eyes to all the different routes available to nursing students. And, if you’re thinking about studying midwifery, I’ve heard the same applies for you too – from caring for teenage expectant mothers to those experiencing birth difficulties, you’ll get a good range of placements to help you decide your midwifery career pathway.

The thing that makes King’s unique is the connections it has to so many NHS Trusts. I attended a King’s careers fair and I was surprised to see the roles I could take with such a large number of Trusts and organisations. I spoke with employers about becoming a staff nurse in an inpatient acute ward, joining a children’s and adolescents ward, working with eating disorder support teams and even going into forensic mental health. There were so many options.

In the meantime, to enhance my CV, I have participated in the King’s Leadership & Professional Skills Award (KLPSA) which has helped improve my communication and management skills and really boosted my confidence. Plus, I work as a Student Ambassador where I get to talk to prospective students about my course and King’s.

Fortunately for me, I will be qualifying with a King’s degree and King’s nurses are always in hot demand. There is a 99% employment rate. Before I’ve even finished my studies I have a job offer to work in a psychiatric decision unit within my current NHS Trust. I will be a staff nurse assessing clients and providing a plan as part of the multidisciplinary team. This is a role I am greatly excited about but three years ago I didn’t even think a job like this existed.

Nursing is a lifetime career, with so many different destinations. I wish you the best of luck on your journey, it will be the best road you ever walk.

Best wishes,

Deborah

BSc Mental Health Nursing

For more information on Mental Health Nursing, click here.

 

Leave a Reply

