My journey at King’s and a career in mental health nursing

I grew up in a country where there is a lot of myth and stigma surrounding mental illness. I quickly became interested in understanding the facts, the ways to deliver care and how to communicate with people with mental health conditions. As nursing was frowned upon when I initially suggested training as a nurse at age 16, I actually ended up studying accountancy (HND) after secondary school.

But luckily, in 2004, I had the opportunity to come to the UK. Unfortunately, I was unable to study mental health nursing at university after my Access to Nursing course, because of a restriction on foreign students.  I remained focused on my desire to become a nurse by studying for NVQ level 3 and 4 in Health and Social Care, Beauty Therapy, BSc Hon. Health and Social Care and Masters in Psychology and worked with the mental health Charity (MIND) for 7 years.

In 2014, I became eligible for the Nursing program because my immigration status changed!

I was very attracted to the course at King’s because of its reputation.  I was ecstatic when I got offered a place and have thoroughly enjoyed studying here. I am particularly impressed with King’s high standard of education, which encourages a high level of interaction between staff and students, and offers a good balance between clinical placements and classroom learning.  I feel that the high reputation of King’s students in clinical settings is second to none.

Six months for the completion of my course, I was offered a position as a staff nurse at a Medium Secure unit in the Midlands, and there have been other offers since then.  I am a bit overwhelmed by the vast opportunities training as a nurse at King’s has offered me.  My goal is to get involved in strategic mental health care management in the near future.

Overall, I am very proud that I have been able to achieve my childhood dream of becoming a nurse and what better way of seeing this dream come true than through the Florence Nightingale Faculty of Nursing & Midwifery at King’s College London.

Aluya, PGDip Mental Health Nursing

For more information on Mental Health Nursing, click here.

For more information on PGDip Mental Health Nursing, click here.

v.png

 

Leave a Reply

