Living at home while studying

After living away from my parents for four years, I was reluctant to move home for the duration of the nursing course.

I had initial reservations such as needing my own space and giving my parents theirs but it has turned out to be one of the best parts of studying in London for me. This is because studying nursing is not like other courses. The hours are very full on, leaving you with little time to play with while you are on placement. The more help and support you have while you study, the better!

There is nothing like coming home from a long day of placement to food in the fridge and little things like knowing that you don’t have to stop for milk of other essentials on the way home. Another reason is that it will most likely be the last opportunity that I will live with my parents – and it has been nice to spend some quality time with them after a few years living away.

Before I moved to London I was worried about the commute to university and even more so to my placement because of the wide range of Trusts linked with King’s College.
Despite having a 45 to 60 minute commute to get into Central London, I have really adapted to travelling and realised that the nature of the big city means it takes a while to get anywhere.

Be prepared to spend money on transport as commuting in London is expensive. I think if you have the opportunity to save money on accommodation then definitely do it as it will give you extra pocket money to explore London when you have time off.

Geraldine, 1st Year PG Dip Adult Nursing

For more information, click here.

Leave a Reply

